Monday, March 31, 2014

Five Things You Need to Know About Resilience STARTM

The Resilience STARTM Home Pilot Project aims to build disaster resilient communities in select areas at high risk for certain natural disasters. Modeled after the very successful ENERGY STAR program, Resilience STARTM will assign a range of stars to homes that meet specific resilience standards, much the same way ENERGY STAR assigns energy efficiency ratings to appliances.

Find out the answers to five critical questions about Resilience STARTM below, and learn more  at

1.       What Building Standards Are Being Used?

The Insurance Institute for Business & Home Safety’s (IBHS) FORTIFIED Home™ (hazard-specific retrofits and new construction) and FORTIFIED for Safer Living® (all-hazard, new construction) standards were selected as the sole construction and building criteria for the Resilience STARTM Home Pilot Project.

2.       Who is Sponsoring Resilience STARTM?

The U.S. Department of Homeland Security (DHS) has led an intensive effort to develop an approach to bolster the resilience of private residences through Resilience STARTM. DHS is joined by the Insurance Institute for Business & Home Safety (IBHS) and other private sector organizations in working to build community resilience through the IBHS’ FORTIFIED stronger, safer building standards.

3.       Who is Eligible?

Pilot communities featuring new construction and retrofitted homes will be selected on both the Atlantic and Gulf Coasts. While Resilience STARTM plans to be open to all building types eventually, only single-family homes will be eligible for designation during the Pilot Project. Builders, contractors, and homeowners who would like to participate in this project are urged to apply now.

No comments:

Post a Comment